• Department of Philosophy was established in 1908 for Bachelor of Arts courses at Judson College. Professor Dr. St. John was firstly appointed as the head of the department of Philosophy.
  • In 1945, Dr. Hla Bu was appointed as first Myanmar Professor of the department of Philosophy & Psychology at Rangoon University and he retired in 1956.
  • After that, Prof. Mr. Das (1957-61), Prof. Mr. K.N. Kar (1961-64), Prof. Dr. Khin Mg Win (1964-75), Prof. U Pe Aung (1975-77), Prof. Daw Kyi Kyi Hla (1978-81), Prof. U Khin Mg Din (1981-87), Prof. Daw Thein Si (1988-90), Prof. Daw Thein Myint (1992-94), Prof. Dr. Myint Myint Aye (1994-98), Prof. Dr. Tin Tin Tun (1998-2005), Prof. Dr. Thein Zan (2006-08), Prof. Dr. Tin Win Aung (2009-10), Prof. Dr. Thet Thet Naing (2010-2012) were appointed as head of the department.
  • At the present, Prof. Dr. Lé Lé Wynn is taking as the head of the Philosophy Department.